Cloud County Baseball Sees Program-Record 19 Players Move on to Next Level

By David Wilson
CCCC Sports Information Director

As a new school year fast approaches, the Cloud County Community College baseball program put the finishing touches on an impressive 2017-18 campaign, and the ensuing offseason, by announcing a record-setting 19 players from last year's roster have committed to four-year institutions.

The previous high for a T-Birds' team came in 1984 when Cloud County had 12 players continue their playing careers at the next level.

"We are extremely proud of this group of sophomores who have left a historic mark on our program. We take great pride in helping student-athletes move on to the next level," said Cloud County head coach, Eric Gilliland. "These guys have dedicated themselves on the field and in the classroom to make that happen."

Of the 19 players, the T-Birds had five players commit to the Division I level in Tauren Langley(Saint Louis University), Matt Bondarchuk (University of Nebraska-Omaha), Dario DeSantis(University of South Carolina Upstate), Aidan Huggins (Illinois State University) and Erik Sabrowski (University of Louisiana-Monroe).

Sabrowski became the fifth player in school history to be drafted out of Cloud County this past June when the San Diego Padres selected him in the 14th round of the 2018 MLB Draft.

"These 5 NCAA Division I signees all came here without a single Division I offer and several of them came here with very limited options period," Gilliland said. "They all earned Division I scholarships. Their perseverance and development has been incredible and we will tell their success stories for a long time here."

Cloud County had nine players commit to NCAA Division II schools, with five of those players staying in the state of Kansas. First baseman Ryan Krolikowski and pitcher Daniel Bachura will suit up for Emporia State University, while Trae McDaniel, Brett Fields and Ryan Brown will all be teammates again at Fort Hays State University.

Utility infielder Preston Allerheiligen joins Cameron University, a member of the Lone Star Conference out in Lawton, Oklahoma.

Right-handed relief pitchers Koby Spicer and Jacob Uhing join the Great American Conference at Northwestern Oklahoma State University, and outfielders Enrique Gonzalez (Northwest Missouri State University) and Ryan Simons (University of Indianapolis) round out the list of T-Birds who will compete at the NCAA Division II level next spring.

In addition to the players heading off to NCAA institutions, Cloud County had four players -- Tucker Catlett, Luis Landaeta, Cohl Bohannan and Jose Chacin -- commit to local NAIA programs.

Chacin and Landaeta will each play for Peru State College. Catlett will join them in Nebraska out at Doane College and Bohannan will pitch for in-state Bethany College.

List of 2017-18 baseball four-year transfers
Erik Sabrowski | LHP |University of Louisiana Monroe (Sun Belt Conference, NCAA DI) |Drafted by San Diego Padres in 14th Round
Tauren Langley | 3B | Saint Louis University (Atlantic 10, NCAA DI)
Matt Bondarchuk | OF | University of Nebraska Omaha (Summit, NCAA DI)
Dario DeSantis | C | University of South Carolina Upstate, (Big South, NCAA DI)
Aidan Huggins | SS | Illinois State University, (Missouri Valley Conference, NCAA D1)
Ryan Krolikowski| 1B/RHP | Emporia State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Daniel Bachura | RHP | Emporia State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Trae McDaniel | OF | Fort Hays State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Brett Fields | 2B | Fort Hays State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Ryan Brown | RHP | Fort Hays State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Jacob Uhing | RHP | Northwestern Oklahoma State University, (Great American Conference, NCAA DII)
Koby Spicer | RHP | Northwestern Oklahoma State University, (Great American Conference, NCAA DII)
Enrique Gonzalez | OF | Northwest Missouri State University, (MIAA, NCAA DII)
Ryan Simons | OF | University of Indianapolis, (Great Lakes Valley Conference, NCAA DII)
Preston Allerheiligen | INF | Cameron University | (Lone Star Conference, NCAA DII)
Tucker Catlett | C/INF | Doane College, (Great Plains Athletic Conference, NAIA)
Luis Landaeta | INF | Peru State College, (Heart of America Conference, NAIA)
Cohl Bohannan | LHP | Bethany College, (Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference, NAIA)
Jose Chacin | C | Peru State College, (Heart of America Conference, NAIA)