21st Judicial District Nominating Commission to Meet December 2nd

Kansas Courts
Kansas Courts

The 21st Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 1:30 pm on Friday, December 2nd, to set the schedule for filling a district magistrate judge vacancy.

The vacancy was created when Judge James Kepple retired November 28th. 

The 21st Judicial District is composed of Clay and Riley counties. 

Public access
The meeting is open to the public.  To listen: 

  • call 845-361-8917
  • enter guest passcode 3872788  

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible: 
ADA Coordinator 
TTY at 711 

District magistrate judge appointment process
To be considered for district magistrate judge, a nominee must be:

  • a resident of Riley County at the time of taking office and while holding office;
  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and
  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination to become certified within 18 months.

The nominating commission selects whom to appoint to fill magistrate judge positions.

Term of office 
After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position.  If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term. 

Nominating commission 
The 21st Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Kyle Bauer and Steven McMahan, Clay Center; William Bahr, Johanna Lyle, Jeremiah Platt, Derrick Roberson, and Kitra Schartz, Manhattan; and Steven Hargrave, Randolph.